Counting calories?

Counting calories..

 

A few days ago, I downloaded the Lose It app on my iPhone. After reading a few articles online, I was curious if I was getting ‘enough’ calories to give myself the best chance of running to my full potential. After filling out a few online calculators from RunnersWorld and other sports oriented websites, I found the general calorie count for my age / activity level / weight, etc.. was anywhere from 2,200 to 2,700 calories a day – before factoring in my workouts.

So, the last 3, going on 4, days – I’ve been tracking everything I eat. My results have been interesting thus far. I’ve made sure to eat like I normally would – and just get a general idea of what my habits are. First day, with a shorter run – I was about 500 calories ‘short.’ I’m told that I should be at 2,200 calories before working out (I like this – as the 2,700 seems way too high).. Now, the next day – I was about 350 calories over.. and this was with another 750 calories burned working out. I ate at Subway sandwich for lunch, with some cereal and eggs for breakfast.. then, the kicker was my SmashBurger and fries for supper. Well, this isn’t out of the ordinary. I don’t care about eating a burger from time to time. I love it – and I plan to continue to enjoy such things in moderation. What had me floored was the fat I took in that day.. 120 grams! YIKES! I had no idea I could ever get that high.. that was off the charts. But, in retrospect – that day was nothing too crazy.. Our bodies burn fat and use it as a fuel.. I’m ok with this. The next day, I had 56 grams of fat.

I plan on continuing to chart my nutrition. It’s given me a good idea on what I need to do to improve my diet – but more importantly, it’s making me realize that I’m doing pretty good as is.. I eat vegetables, fruits, grains – and this app shows I’m getting a good ratio to what’s recommended as far as protein / fat / carb percentages.

The moral – I’m a runner.. I run a lot.. I’m going to keep enjoying food – and don’t plan on giving it up any time soon 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

